We have a Board of seven members who are appointed by the Governor of South Australia.

The Board's role is to monitor, influence and approve the overall direction and performance of ReturnToWorkSA.

Greg McCarthy, Chairman

Greg has extensive experience in Statutory Classes of Insurance, most recently as a CEO of ReturnToWorkSA and previously at senior executive general management level for national private sector insurers in both CTP and Workers Compensation.

He has also worked as a consultant, business owner, board director (including two as Chairman) as well as on stakeholder management.

His extensive experience includes:

  • Former Director Motor Accident Commission of South Australia
  • Former CEO ReturnToWorkSA
  • Former Chairman NSW WorkCover Authority
  • Former Chairman NSW Home Builders Warranty Insurance Scheme
  • Former Chairman NSW Occupational Health and Safety and Workers Compensation Advisory Council
  • Former Chairman NSW Home Building Advisory Council
  • Former Director StateCover Mutual (an APRA approved specialist local government workers compensation insurer)
  • Former National General Manager for both CTP & Workers Compensation private sector insurers
  • Consultant to Statutory Authorities in NSW and SA
  • past owner operator of a large Australia wide rehabilitation provider WIMS (now Konekt).

He was appointed to the Board in March 2019.

Hon John R Rau SC

Hon John R Rau SC is a Barrister and former SA Deputy Premier and Attorney-General. He has more than 36 years of experience in the legal profession and in Government, both federal and State.

John served as the member for Enfield from 2002–2018 and has performed a wide variety of ministerial roles. In his capacity as Minister for Industrial Relations, he was the architect responsible for overhauling the Return to Work scheme in 2014.

In 2016 he was appointed Senior Counsel by the SA Supreme Court. His interests include employment law, industrial law, personal injuries, medico-legal issues, governmental relations and compensation law.

His insight into the reasons for the design of the Scheme will be of immeasurable value to the Board as it seeks to meet the challenges confronting the Scheme. He was appointed to the Board in November 2021.

A/Prof William (Bill) Griggs, AM, ASM

As an intensive care, aeromedical, and trauma physician, Prof Griggs has over 30 years' experience in managing cases of serious injury from all causes.

He has completed an MBA, is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and is a current member of the Super SA Board. He was previously Chair of the Motor Accident Commission Board.

Prof Griggs has particular interests in injury prevention, in optimising outcomes for those who have been physically and/or psychologically injured, and in corporate systems and their governance. He was appointed to the Board in November 2013.

Chris Latham

Chris is an actuary who has advised most accident compensation schemes throughout Australia and New Zealand. His advice has been wide-ranging, including balance sheet liabilities, premiums, funding issues and the design and costing of scheme changes.

He was previously a Board member of the Institute for Safety, Compensation and Recovery Research (ISCRR) and Chairman of the Personal Injury Education Foundation (PIEF). He is a Board member of the Asbestos Injuries Compensation Fund (AICF) and is a member of the NSW Compulsory Third Party Premium sub-committee.

He has been an active member of the actuarial profession, sitting on a number of professional committees.

Chris was a partner with PricewaterhouseCoopers for over 20 years prior to his retirement in 2013. He was appointed to the Board in November 2013.

Yvonne Sneddon

Yvonne is a professional non-executive director with more than 15 years' experience as a Board member in both the private and public sectors.

She has over 25 years' experience providing financial services and commercial advice. She was a partner at Deloitte and before that a partner at Ferrier Hodgson. She left private practice in 2004 to become a professional company director.

Among her appointments, Yvonne is a member of the Boards of Catherine House, Flinders Reproductive Medicine Pty Ltd, Unity Housing Company Ltd and Statewide Super.

Yvonne is also a member of ‘audit and risk committees’ for the Department for Communities and Social Inclusion, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure, Local Government Association of South Australia and SA Ambulance Service.

She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australian Institute of Chartered Accountants. She was appointed to the Board in November 2013.

Elizabeth Perry, AM

Elizabeth has over 15 years of experience as a board member across the public, commercial and not for profit sectors with particular experience in the legal and insurance, arts and education industries.

Elizabeth also has more than 35 years' experience as a lawyer in providing legal advisory and strategic advice to employers regarding all aspects of employment law and held positions as Partner at EMA Legal and Finlaysons.

Elizabeth has held various and diverse board appointments including Member (former Chair) of the RAA Group and RAA Insurance Ltd and RAA Insurance Holdings Board and Member of the Federation of Interntational Automobile Associations World Council for mobility, as well as Deputy Chancellor at Flinders University. Previous board roles include the South Australian Museum and a sporting association.

She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and member of various law associations. She was appointed to the Board in February 2019.

Narelle Borda

Narelle has more than 14 year of experience in quality management and technical management roles in South Australian food manufacturing businesses.

She is currently a member of SA-based Macro Group Australia (formerly Macro Meats) executive management team, with responsibilities covering food safety, work health and safety, induction and training, quality, financial, animal welfare and environmental compliance.

Narelle’s detailed working knowledge of national business operations, including export and domestic food manufacturing, transport and logistics, clothing, footwear and accessories, brings a unique and valuable perspective to the ReturnToWorkSA Board. She was appointed to the Board in November 2021.